Malta's Individual Investor Program (IIP) for Citizenship

The Maltese citizenship by investment program offers investors the potential to acquire full EU citizenship in just over one year in exchange for an economic contribution into the country.

There are no minimum physical stay requirements, no language tests and no long residence periods in order to acquire European citizenship through Malta’s citizenship program.

Following the popularity of the Maltese residence program, the Government of Malta launched the Malta Individual Investor Program (IIP) by virtue of legal notice 47 of 2014. The goal is to further attract foreign investment from wealthy business owners and entrepreneurs and bring foreign capital into the country. The legislative framework provides an opportunity for investors looking to obtain a European Union citizenship with a straight forward application process and clear requirements. 

Immediate freedom of travel to all the Schengen countries with residence card. 

Same rights as any EU national to live, work, study in any of the 28 EU countries, including Switzerland. 

Click here to see a comparison between Malta's MRVP (residency) and IIP (citizenship) programs. 

Malta Citizenship by investment (5).jpg


The university of Malta is one of the oldest universities in Europe.


English and Maltese


UN, EU, Eurozone, Commonwealth, Council of Europe, OSCE




460 297


316 km2 (122 sq mi)

GDP per capita

22,779.91 USD (2013)

The number of applicants allowed into the program is capped at 1800, making this not only an exclusive program, but also putting strict time constraints for potential applicants.


Travel access to over 168 countries with citizenship and passport

Fast processing time

Citizenship within 12 - 14 months

No language tests and minimum stay requirements

Dual citizenship allowed

EU Citizenship without having to relocate to Malta

Visits during the first year required

Malta citizenship residence.jpg


The Maltese citizenship program requires the investor to make an economic contribution to the country as well as meet certain other requirements as prescribed by the Government. Following this, and subject to thorough due diligence, background and application procedure checks, the applicants and their families are granted full EU citizenship and access to one of the world best passports.

Investors who wish to apply for Maltese citizenship by investment must meet all of the following investment requirements:

malta citizenship eu passport south africa

1. Contribution to the NDF - National Development Fund of EUR 650 000

Additional contribution for the spouse and each child under the age of 18: EUR 25 000.

The applicant may include children between the ages of 18-26 if they are financially dependent on the main applicant and are unmarried: EUR 50 000.

Dependent parents over the age of 55 can also be included provided it can be shown that they are living with or are supported by the main applicant: EUR 50 000. 

2. Prescribed investment of EUR 150 000 as set out by the Identity Malta Agency, held for 5 years. 

This is returned to the investor after 5 years. 

3. Property purchase of residential property in Malta: There are two options (A or B):

A. Purchase of residential property with a minimum value of EUR 350 000. This must be held for 5 years.

B. Lease of a residential property with an annual rental of at least EUR 16 000, which also must be held for 5 years.

Note: The property cannot be let during this time.


The requirements for the Maltese IIP are as follows. Applicants must pass a due diligence test and prove legitimate source of funds and source of wealth.

  • The applicant must have a clean criminal record and be over the age of 18;

  • Applicants must be in possession of valid travel documents;

  • The applicant must be a third country national. They cannot be a citizen of the EU, EEA or Switzerland;

  • Valid global health insurance covering medical expenses to the minimum value of EUR 50 000 per family member.

  • The applicant must hold legal residence (not physical) in Malta for one year prior to the certificate of naturalisation being issued.

  • Oath of Allegiance: all applicants that are 18 years old or more, must visit Malta in person in order to collect their passport and swear an Oath of Allegiance.


Malta allows dual citizenship. This can be found in the Maltese Citizenship Act. South Africa also allows dual citizenship provided an application is made to the Department of Home Affairs. 


Malta is a family friendly country and allows the spouse and dependent children under the age of 26 to be included in the application. Dependent parents over 55 can also be included. 

Malta passport.jpg

invest in malta for citizenship.jpg


Maltese citizenship allows the holder the right to live, study and work anywhere in the European Union. Malta is a full EU member and therefore with a Maltese citizenship, investors and their families have the same rights as any other EU nationals.

A Maltese passport allows visa free travel to more than 160 countries, including the USA and European Union countries.

Malta residence by investment program .jpg


Malta has a double taxation agreement with many countries, including South Africa, which can add an attractive advantage for some investors.

Acquiring Maltese citizenship does not in itself trigger tax residency. Individuals who are resident but not domiciled in Malta pay tax on income arising in Malta as well as income remitted to Malta from outside.

In Malta, personal income is taxed at progressive rates up to 35%. Capital Gains Tax (CGT) is levied on immovable property and shares, but it is not levied under certain prescribed conditions. Malta does not have estate duty or gift tax. Corporate tax is 35% and standard VAT is 18%. Malta has special tax concessions that apply for non –resident or non-domiciled persons.

Please note, we strongly encourage clients to obtain professional tax advice. 

Malta global residence.jpg

Malta - Country Info

Maltese flag_LIO Global

Malta, officially the Republic of Malta, is an archipelago of 7 islands located in the Mediterranean Sea. The archipelago consists of three islands: Malta, Gozo and Comino with a total population of over 400,000 inhabitants.

Malta is the largest island and known as the cultural, commercial and administrative centre. Gozo, the second largest island, is more rural, and can be characterised by fishing, tourism, crafts and agriculture. Comino, which is the smallest of the trio, has one hotel and is largely uninhabited.

The country lies 80 km south of Sicily and 284 km East of Tunisia. With a tiny area of 316 square kilometres, it is one of the world’s smallest and most densely populated countries and has the smallest capital city in the EU. Malta gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1964 and then became a republic in 1974. Malta and Gozo more famously known as investment and lifestyle destinations and the country is known to have one of the best climates in the world.

  • The University of Malta is one of the oldest universities in Europe and was founded in 1592.

  • Malta’s Grand Harbour boasts of being one of the best natural deep-water harbours in the world.

  • The megalithic temples in Malta boast of having a lineage older than England’s Stonehenge.

  • Malta is believed to have served as the site of the legendary city of Atlantis.

  • Mosta Dome is the third largest unsupported church dome in Europe.

  • Calypso Cave is said to be the cave that Homer wrote about in The Odyssey.

  • Valletta, its current capital, is one of the most concentrated historical areas in the world, according to UNESCO.

  • Malta receives almost triple of its population in tourist arrivals per year: from slightly more than 414,000 people working and living on the island to 1,242,000 of tourist arrivals.